April 17, 2024

Three young visual artists from Bondurant, Burlington, and Riverdale recognized for outstanding visual arts work

[IOWA CITY, IOWA, April 17, 2024] — The University of Iowa’s Grant Wood Art Colony (GWAC) will award three students from Iowa high schools with the Grant Wood Legacy Prize for outstanding visual arts at a writing awards ceremony as part of GWAC’s annual contest which aims to identify and uplift young artists.

“The Grant Wood Legacy Prize enables the University of Iowa to discover and recognize young Iowa artists to encourage their talent,” said Maura Pilcher, GWAC director.

Current GWAC Fellows, Jessica Tucker and Shea Hembrey, along with two UI students Jacqueline Banigan (Art History Ph.D. candidate) and Alex Uhrich (Marketing B.B.A. candidate) selected Addisyn Marvin (Bondurant-Farrar High School, Bondurant), Minka Buhmeyer (Burlington Community High School, Burlington), and Tanya Rastogi (Pleasant Valley High School, Riverdale) as winners for their demonstration of a regional voice and skill. This is the second year that Tanya Rastogi has received the honor. Last year, she won it for her drawing, Homemade Samosas.

The judges selected recipients from over 400 visual arts entries from Iowa students in media categories Grant Wood worked on: jewelry, painting, drawing and illustration, printmaking, design, ceramics and glass, and mixed media.

The Grant Wood Legacy Prize is a collaboration with the Belin-Blank Center, the Iowa and Midwest Region-at-Large Scholastic Art & Writing Awards affiliate.

GWAC established the Grant Wood Legacy Prize in 2016 in honor of Iowa’s most famous artist. Grant Wood was a lifelong educator, from his early years teaching at Cedar Rapids’ McKinley Junior High in the 1920s to the Stone City Art Colony of the 1930s until his death while a University of Iowa faculty member.

GWAC, committed to continuing the legacy of Grant Wood, promotes Wood’s passion for education and developing young artists.

Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

The Belin-Blank Center at the University of Iowa recognizes original creative work by Iowa students every year through the Regional Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. This is the country's longest-running and most prestigious scholarship and recognition program for creative students in grades 7–12. This program year, more than 330,000 works of art and writing were submitted to 100 Affiliate regions across the country. As one of the largest national affiliates, the Belin-Blank Center adjudicated over 7,000 pieces of art and writing from the Iowa and Midwest Regions. Since the program’s founding in 1923, the Awards have fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students, including renowned alumni who have gone on to become leaders in their fields, such as Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Philip Pearlstein, and Sylvia Plath. More recently, Stephen King, Richard Linklater, Zac Posen, and Lena Dunham received Scholastic Art & Writing Awards when they were teens.

Addisyn Marvin, The Two Ladies Around the Block and Their Virulent Stew

Addisyn Marvin, The Two Ladies Around the Block and Their Virulent Stew, Drawing & Illustration. Grade 11, Bondurant-Farrar High School, Bondurant, IA. Belin-Blank Center, Affiliate; 2024 Gold Key; 2024 Grant Wood Legacy Prize.






Minka Buhmeyer, Frognana Split

Minka Buhmeyer, Frognana Split, Ceramics & Glass. Grade 12, Burlington Community High School, Burlington, IA. Belin-Blank Center, Affiliate; 2024 Gold Key; 2023 Grant Wood Legacy Prize.




Tanya Rastogi, Liminal Memory of a Winter in Delhi

Tanya Rastogi, Liminal Memory of a Winter in Delhi, Drawing & Illustration. Grade 11, Pleasant Valley High School, Riverdale, IA. Belin-Blank Center, Affiliate; 2024 Silver Key; 2024 Grant Wood Legacy Prize.